Company News and Press Releases
Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2011 Northern California Finalists Announced
Wed, May 18 21:00 PM EDT

Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2011 Northern California Finalists Announced

Celebrating 25 years of inspiration

PR Newswire

SAN JOSE, Calif., May 18, 2011

SAN JOSE, Calif., May 18, 2011 /PRNewswire/ -- Ernst & Young LLP is pleased to announce the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® Northern California finalists. This group of outstanding entrepreneurs was selected by an independent judging panel made up of previous winners of the award, leading CEOs, private capital investors and other regional business leaders. The winners will be revealed at a gala event on Saturday, June 25 at The Fairmont San Jose.

"These finalists create jobs in our area, encouraging community development and innovation in our broader economy," said Ernie Cortes, Entrepreneur Of The Year Northern California Program Director. "No matter who wins on June 25 we know one thing for sure – Northern California is enriched by every one of these finalists."

The Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year 2011 Northern California finalists are:

Tom Bedecarre, CEO, AKQA

Zohar Levkovitz, CEO, Amobee

John Melo, CEO, Amyris, Inc.

Eileen Gittins, Founder & CEO, Blurb, Inc.

John Bishop, CEO, Cepheid

Steven Boal, CEO, Incorporated

Charles Sweat, President & CEO, Earthbound Farm

Bryce Williams, Co-Founder, President & CEO, Extend Health, Inc.

Jeffrey Maggioncalda, President & CEO, Financial Engines, Inc.

Amit Chatterjee, Founder & CEO, Hara

David Lazovsky, Founder, CEO & President, Intermolecular

Jeff Weiner, CEO & Reid Hoffman, Co-Founder & Executive Chairman, LinkedIn Corporation

Jim Marggraff, Founder & CEO, Livescribe Inc.

Tasso Roumeliotis, Founder & CEO, Location Labs

Adam Lowry & Eric Ryan, Co-Founders, method products

Juvenal Chavez, CEO & Founder, Mi Pueblo Food Center

Neil Grimmer & Sheryl O'Loughlin, Co-founders, Nest Collective

Dr. A.K. Pradeep, CEO, NeuroFocus, Inc

N. Anthony Coles, M.D., President & CEO, Onyx Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Scott Thompson, President, PayPal

Keith Belling, Co-Founder & CEO, Popchips, Inc.

Vlad Shmunis, CEO, RingCentral

John Amster, CEO & Co-Founder, RPX Corporation

Kevin Surace, President & CEO, Serious Materials

Ross Bott, President & CEO, SEVEN Networks

Dave Habiger, President & CEO, Sonic Solutions

Jessica Herrin, CEO & Founder, Stella & Dot

Joshua Pickus, President & CEO,

Peter Gassner, President & CEO, Veeva Systems

Bob Zollars, Chairman & CEO, Vocera, Inc.

The Entrepreneur Of The Year Program honors entrepreneurs regionally in June, leading up to the national awards in November. Additionally, venture-backed companies that win an Entrepreneur Of The Year Award regionally are also eligible for the Entrepreneur Of The Year Venture Capital Award of Excellence on a national level. The overall National US winner then moves on to compete for the Ernst & Young World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award in June.

This year, the Entrepreneur Of The Year Program celebrates its 25th anniversary. The program has expanded to recognize business leaders in more than 140 cities and more than 50 countries throughout the world. Awards are given to entrepreneurs who demonstrate excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their businesses and communities.

All regional honorees are invited to the Entrepreneur Of The Year National Awards gala, hosted by Jay Leno, on November 12, 2011, in Palm Springs, California. The gala is the culminating event of the Ernst & Young Strategic Growth Forum®, the nation's most prestigious gathering of high-growth, market-leading companies, which will be held November 9–13, 2011. For more information on the Ernst & Young Strategic Growth Forum, please visit


Founded and produced by Ernst & Young LLP, the Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards are pleased to have the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation as a national sponsor.

In Northern California, sponsors include ManpowerGroup, SAP, The Big Picture Film and Video Arts, Smart Business, ADP, RoseRyan, Scherzer International, and Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP.

Contact information

To make reservations for the Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards gala on Saturday, June 25, contact Laura Gordon of Ernst & Young at +1 408 947 5787 or by Friday, June 10. Tickets are $225 per person or $2,500 per table. For more information about the program, please visit

About Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year

Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year is the world's most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs. The unique award makes a difference through the way it encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential, and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement. As the first and only truly global award of its kind, Entrepreneur Of The Year celebrates those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 140 cities in more than 50 countries.

About Ernst & Young

Ernst & Young is a global leader in assurance, tax, transaction and advisory services. Worldwide, our 141,000 people are united by our shared values and an unwavering commitment to quality. We make a difference by helping our people, our clients and our wider communities achieve their potential.

Ernst & Young refers to the global organization of member firms of Ernst & Young Global Limited, each of which is a separate legal entity. Ernst & Young LLP is a client-serving member firm of Ernst & Young Global Limited operating in the US. For more information about our organization, please visit

This news release has been issued by Ernst & Young LLP, a US client-serving member firm of Ernst & Young Global Limited.

SOURCE Ernst & Young LLP

Email Article
Next Article in Company News and Press Releases